Networking

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all I got a new rig the other day and I'm wonderin whats the best way to network my 2 puters and share the cable lovin. I did buy a netgear router and got it all hooked up. Both systems have internet access but I can't share files between em and I can't get RW to work. Is it better to use a router or use xp's networking??? I'm kinda new to networking since this is the first time I've had 2 pc's and could use some help.....Thanks

if you only have 2 computers, than using cross-over network cable is enough (direct between NIC). you don't have to use router. Just connect your cable modem to one of the puter, which will serve as your gateway. Unless cable modem use NIC.... wouldn't have a clue since I never see/use a cable modem before.

as for file sharing, you should activate it under your networking properties for both puter, and you have to be in the same workgroup (eg. mshome).

try searching the web for step by step on how to connect 2 puter together. it's quite simple.

I've heard that a router is safer than running the 1 rig to host and the other as a client. I think because of the filesharing thing but I'm not sure. But then I read that a router also can cut down your bandwidth alot...I know it's simple to set it up but there's too many different variables like between security and performance. Guess I'm just wondering which way is better, with a router or without...